• Biography

Franco-American concert pianist and musicologist Anne de Fornel is a graduate of the University of Paris-Sorbonne – Paris IV (Ph.D. in Music and Musicology), the National Superior Conservatory of Music and Dance of Lyon where she studied with Florent Boffard (Master’s Degree in piano), and HEC Paris (Specialized Master’s Degree in “Media, Art and Creation”).

 

In 2019 she published the book John Cage with Fayard Editions, critically acclaimed as a “major work” (Diapason) and “a marvelous read throughout” (Diacritik). She has been invited to give conference-concerts at Meiji University (Tokyo), IRCAM, CNSM of Paris, Parsons Paris, University of Paris-Sorbonne (Paris IV), University of Burgundy, École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts (Lyon). Designated program writer and interviewer for the Théâtre de la Ville in Paris, she is an associate researcher at the Center of Research for Arts and Language (UMR 8566 EHESS/CNRS).

 

In 2020, Paraty (PIAS distribution) released her album Cage Meets Satie: Works for Two Pianos recorded with the pianist Jay Gottlieb. Her previous albums have received excellent reviews and numerous awards: the CD/DVD Tramages (Hortus label) with the Ensemble Mesostics as the soloist for two contemporary works–Trame IV by Martin Matalon and Interstices by Philippe Hurel–was awarded five diapasons by Diapason and four stars by Classica; Vers la Vie Nouvelle (part of the prestigious collection Musicians and the First World War) released by Hortus and Crossing the Line, recorded with the Trio Empreinte for Klarthe, were both “France Musique Choices” and are regularly broadcast by different radio stations.

 

Laureate of a number of national and international piano competitions, she was named “Gold Talent” by the International Rotary Club. Throughout her studies, she has received valuable advice from renowned pianists such as Prisca Benoît, Gabriel Chodos, Arnaldo Cohen, Klaus Hellwig, Zhu Xiao-Mei, Emmanuel Mercier, Dominique Merlet, Jean-Claude Pennetier, Jacques Rouvier and Françoise Thinat. Her passion for contemporary music has led her to premiere several works: with the Trio Steuermann, Klaviertrio by Johannes Boris Borowski; with pianist Guy Livingston, Chabrieriana by William Bolcom; with the Trio Empreinte, Crossing the Line by Graciane Finzi and Slow Swirl at the Edge of the Sea by Robert Lemay; and as a soloist, Moth by Andrea Agostini, 24 Haïku by Jean-Yves Bosseur, Ucelli di Pace by Fabrice Grégorutti and Pétales de rêve dans le paravent du vieux moine  by Henri Pousseur (French premiere). She appears in the documentary Pierre Wissmer, a Portrait that she co-wrote with the director Éric Darmon (Mémoire Magnétique).

 

Anne de Fornel performs in France and abroad, giving recitals throughout Europe: in Paris at the Petit Palais, George C. Marshall Center-Hôtel de Talleyrand, Salon France-Amériques, Palais Brongniart, Hôtel des Invalides-Musée de l’armée, Maison Heinrich Heine, at the Auditori in Barcelona, the Kulturhaus in Baden-Baden, as well as in prestigious festivals (Lille Piano(s) Festival, Les Estivales d’Artenetra and Musicancy in France ; TransArt-Festival of Contemporary Culture in Italy, Festival Klangspuren in Austria and Lake District Summer Music, Saddleworth Festival of the Arts and Uppermill Summer Festival in England). In April 2021, she has been invited to play the Concerto n° 2 by Pierre Wissmer with the Symphonic Orchestra Karlovy Vary conducted by Martin Lebel.

 

Eager to transmit her knowledge, she teaches piano and coordinates the keyboard department at the Municipal Conservatory of the 19th district in Paris and at the American School of Paris.

biographie
  • Biographie

Franco-américaine, Anne de Fornel conjugue avec talent une carrière de pianiste concertiste et de musicologue. Elle est diplômée du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Lyon (Master de piano) où elle étudie avec Florent Boffard, de l’Université de Paris-Sorbonne – Paris IV (Doctorat en Musique et Musicologie) et de HEC Paris (Mastère spécialisé « Médias, Art et Création »).

 

Auteur de plusieurs travaux sur la Seconde École de Vienne et les interactions entre musique et arts plastiques, elle publie en 2019 la monographie John Cage aux Éditions Fayard. Saluée par la critique comme un « ouvrage majeur » (Diapason) et un « éblouissement permanent » (Diacritik), cette publication lui a valu d’être invitée à donner des conférences-concerts à l’Université de Meiji (Tokyo), à l’IRCAM, au CNSM de Paris, à la Parsons School, à l’Université de Paris-Sorbonne (Paris IV), à l’Université de Bourgogne et à l’École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Lyon. Rédactrice pour le Théâtre de la Ville, elle est aussi chercheur associée au Centre de Recherche sur les Arts et le Langage (UMR 8566 EHESS/CNRS).

 

En 2020, Anne de Fornel réalise chez le label Paraty (PIAS distribution) l’album Cage Meets Satie : Works for Two Pianos enregistré avec le pianiste Jay Gottlieb. Diffusé dans l’émission “En pistes, contemporains” sur France Musique, cet album se voit récompensé de cinq étoiles du magazine Classica. Ses disques précédents ont aussi fait l’objet d’élogieuses critiques et reçu plusieurs distinctions : le CD/DVD Tramages (Hortus) avec l’Ensemble Mesostics dans lequel elle est la soliste de deux œuvres concertantes  contemporaines – Trame IV de Martin Matalon et Interstices de Philippe Hurel – a été couronné par cinq diapasons du magazine Diapason ; Vers la Vie Nouvelle qui fait partie de la prestigieuse collection Les Musiciens et la Grande Guerre des Éditions Hortus et Crossing the Line réalisé avec le Trio Empreinte pour le label Klarthe ont tous deux été des « Choix de France Musique » et sont régulièrement diffusés sur les ondes de plusieurs radios.

 

Lauréate de nombreux concours nationaux et internationaux, elle est nommée « Talents d’Or » par le Rotary Club International. Durant ses études, elle a bénéficié des conseils de pianistes et pédagogues renommés tels que Prisca Benoît, Gabriel Chodos, Arnaldo Cohen, Klaus Hellwig, Zhu Xiao-Mei, Emmanuel Mercier, Dominique Merlet, Jean-Claude Pennetier, Jacques Rouvier et Françoise Thinat. Passionnée par la musique contemporaine, elle a créé plusieurs œuvres : avec le Trio Steuermann, Klaviertrio de Johannes Boris Borowski ; avec Guy Livingston, Chabrieriana pour piano à quatre mains de William Bolcom ; avec le Trio Empreinte, Crossing the Line de Graciane Finzi et Slow Swirl at the Edge of the Sea de Robert Lemay ; en soliste, Moth d’Andrea Agostini, 24 Haïku de Jean-Yves Bosseur, Ucelli di Pace de Fabrice Grégorutti et Pétales de rêve dans le paravent du vieux moine de Henri Pousseur (création française). Elle apparaît également comme pianiste dans le documentaire Pierre Wissmer, un portrait coécrit avec le réalisateur Éric Darmon (Mémoire Magnétique).

 

Anne de Fornel s’est produit en France et à l’étranger, donnant des récitals à travers l’Europe : à Paris, au Petit Palais, George C. Marshall Center – Hôtel de Talleyrand, Salons France-Amériques, Palais Brongniart, Hôtel des Invalides – Musée de l’Armée, Maison Heinrich Heine, Mémorial de Verdun, à l’Auditori de Barcelone, à la Kulturhaus de Baden-Baden, ainsi que dans le cadre de prestigieux festivals (Lille Piano(s) Festival, Les Estivales d’Artenetra et Musicancy en France ; TransArt-Festival of Contemporary Culture en Italie, Festival Klangspuren en Autriche ; Lake District Summer Music, Saddleworth Festival of the Arts et Uppermill Summer Festival en Angleterre). En avril 2021, elle est invitée à jouer le Concerto n° 2 de Pierre Wissmer avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Karlovy Vary sous la direction de Martin Lebel.

 

Soucieuse de transmettre son savoir, elle est professeur de piano et coordinatrice du département claviers au Conservatoire municipal du 19e arrondissement à Paris et à l’École Américaine de Paris.